Daily Song Study

Irving Berlin – Oh, How I Hate To Get Up In The Morning

In songs on August 11, 2011 at 11:35 am

Irving Berlin was not known for singing his own songs, but here’s a nice exception, from the 1943 film This Is The Army.

On a purely nostalgic note, I enjoy how the opening skit reminds me of the old radio shows I used to find on cassette at my local library as a kid. For some reason, an audio window into a bygone era makes it much more realistic to my brain than a film. Perhaps it’s because in film, you see people and structures that are significantly different than those you’re used to. With radio, you’re hearing everything exactly as someone would have heard it back then. It’s easier to imagine that you’re there, at least for me.

But getting back to the song, it’s a great example of melding a popular sentiment with a catchy melody. That’s a lot of what pop music is about, for better or worse, and in this case, I couldn’t agree more.

What are your thoughts?

