Daily Song Study

Pink Floyd – Paranoid Eyes

In songs on February 17, 2012 at 10:22 am

I’ve admitted before that my favorite song is by Paul Simon, but my favorite album of all time is easily The Final Cut by Pink Floyd. As I’ve written, it’s difficult for me to separate Roger Waters’ works into single tunes, since they are so closely interwoven with the whole, but this one stands well on its own.

The lyrics perfectly bring us into the veteran’s post-war world, the world they made and that we inhabit, as the album reminds us. The instrumental break in the middle is noteworthy as well, in that it doesn’t contain a solo per se, but a musical shift which changes the dynamics subtly to help bring us into the final verse. Sonically, there is almost too much here to even begin discussing, which is one of the reasons this album is so remarkably unique. I encourage you to give the entire song cycle a listen.

EDITOR’S NOTE:

Events moving at a rapid pace in my own life have led me to put this blog on hiatus for the foreseeable future. I enjoy writing about music, but my primary job is the making of music, and thence must my attentions be turned for now. I hope you take some time to enjoy the archives in my absence. 

Safe travels…

What are your thoughts?

